GitHub Erfahrungen

4,8
Gesamtbewertung
Bewertungen

4,8
Gesamtbewertung
Bewertungen
Mehr Erfahren

Nutzerbewertungen im Überblick

Über GitHub

GitHub ist eine Projektmanagement- und Code-Sharing-Plattform, mit der Nutzer ihre Codes mit anderen teilen und mithilfe kollektiver Intelligenz erstellen/vervielfältigen können. Die Software lässt sich für verschiedene Arten von...

Mehr erfahren

Funktionsbewertungen

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
4,6
Funktionen
4,7
Bedienkomfort
4,4
Kundenbetreuung
4,4

Nutzerbewertungen zu GitHub durchsuchen

6.042 von 6.042 Bewertungen
Sortieren nach:
Michael
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11–50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Nicht verfügbar
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
Nicht verfügbar

5
Bewertet am 16.2.2021

Bestes Versionsverwaltungs-System

Vorteile

Sehr gute Möglichkeit zur Versionsverwaltung von Source-Code und anderen textbasierten Dokumenten. Einfaches Branchen und Mergen/Rebasen.

Nachteile

Standardmäßig gibt es nur ein command line interface.

Björn
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: Selbstständig
  • Wöchentlich für 1-5 Monate genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Nicht verfügbar
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
4
Kundenbetreuung
Nicht verfügbar

5
Bewertet am 12.4.2024

50+ Millionen User. Das spricht für sich.

Vorteile

Gute Integrationsmöglichkeiten mit anderen Tools und nur minimale Ausfallzeiten bei Upgrades.

Nachteile

Es gibt Speicherplatzbeschränkungen (die für mich aber bislang nicht relevant gewesen sind).

Christopher
Christopher
  • Branche: Forschung
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11–50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
5
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
4

5
Bewertet am 27.4.2023

Industry standard in source control and more

A valuable service providing a number of tools for productive collaboration and management of source code. For academics, it's a no brainer to use GitHub with their educational offerings to help prepare your students for the industry.

Vorteile

GitHub provides a single service where source code control, documentation, issue tracking, and more are possible. All of these aspects are well integrated and can even reference lines from the source from different commits. Pricing for academics is extremely generous.

Nachteile

There's not much to not like in GitHub. It does a lot of things well. Some little things can be improved like better user administration and creating a way for users to sign-up for your organization rather than inviting a user to join your organization.

Die besten Alternativen zu GitHub

Verifizierter Rezensent
  • Branche: Gastgewerbe
  • Unternehmensgröße: 201–500 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Nicht verfügbar
Funktionen
4
Bedienkomfort
4
Kundenbetreuung
Nicht verfügbar

4
Bewertet am 8.6.2024

A Surprising Win & A Versatile Tool for Web Management

Overall, my experience with GitHub has been positive. It's streamlined our development process for custom JavaScript and Python work, making our code management more efficient and reliable. The ability to collaborate seamlessly has been especially beneficial during periods of remote work. However, there's a learning phase, and its utility varies depending on the task at hand. For heavy coding days, it's indispensable. For quick WordPress updates, it can feel like overkill.

Vorteile

As a web manager with two years of experience in Indonesia's hospitality and F&B industry, I primarily use WordPress that uses JavaScript and sometimes I made my own Python scripts. GitHub's version control has been a standout feature for me. It eliminates the need for multiple file versions and allows easy rollbacks when errors occur. The collaboration features are excellent, especially when working with team members across different Indonesian cities. Additionally, the vast GitHub community and its open-source projects have been invaluable resources, offering solutions that we can adapt to our local market.

Nachteile

The initial learning curve with Git terminology and workflows was challenging, particularly for team members more versed in hospitality than coding. Onboarding took longer than anticipated. While GitHub excels for managing code, it's less intuitive for non-code assets like restaurant menu designs or hotel brochures, which are crucial in our industry. Lastly, for simple WordPress theme tweaks, GitHub can sometimes feel overly complex.

Lallchand
  • Branche: Verteidigung & Raumfahrt
  • Unternehmensgröße: 10.000+ Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Nicht verfügbar
Funktionen
3
Bedienkomfort
3
Kundenbetreuung
Nicht verfügbar

3
Bewertet am 24.11.2021

GitHub review

Very good , use for source control

Vorteile

It stores all revisions , has a good tracking system, used by various companies

Nachteile

Everything is command line and sometimes don’t remember all the commands

Tommy
Tommy
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 2–10 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
5
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
4
Kundenbetreuung
Nicht verfügbar

5
Bewertet am 19.3.2024

GitHub is one of the tools you just need

Works great, high quality and never loose any work. Check in often in busy collaborative environments, otherwise use the merge tools, no biggie.

Vorteile

It works. Fast and on Mac OS, Windows and Linux. Integrated nicely into both Visual Studio Code (PC, Mac) and Visual Studio (PC).
Code compare. Merge. No problems.

Nachteile

It starts to eat disk space and 50Gbyte gone the other day. Some more integrated cleaning would be great.

Verifizierter Rezensent
  • Branche: Marktforschung
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11–50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für 6-12 Monate genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
5
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
5

4
Bewertet am 26.4.2024

My Honest review of GitHub

Vorteile

The GitHub project management functions have changed everything for me. What I love most is how uncomplicated this site makes the task tracking process through its intuitive issue tracking method, one can also set objectives easily with milestones or organize their job visually by employing project boards. Making customized workflows to suit the team’s distinct way of doing things is quite simple, all thanks to it plus integration into other software such as Trello ensures that all operations are interconnected. Besides enabling us keep abreast of the pace as well as take well thought out actions this system also offers excellent reporting capabilities thus helping us make informed choices when confronted by any challenge be it big or small.

Nachteile

Beside that GitHub has some project management tools there are teams that feel it lags behind other platforms initiated towards managing projects in certain areas.

Braden
  • Branche: Grundschul- & Sekundarbildung
  • Unternehmensgröße: 10.000+ Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Nicht verfügbar
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
Nicht verfügbar

5
Bewertet am 18.5.2024

GitHub - A great tool for handling application development within a team project

I would highly recommend this tool for any teams that need to collaborate together to make code changes and review each others work.

Vorteile

I like that GitHub allows multiple people on a team to work collaboratively together when doing coding development. I enjoy the friendly user interface and it makes collaborative coding work organized.

Nachteile

At first it took a bit to get the hang of but once you get familiar with the process it’s a great tool.

Alan
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51–200 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Nicht verfügbar
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
Nicht verfügbar

5
Bewertet am 30.4.2024

First choice for version control

Vorteile

- Versioning and tracking
Easy to track changes, it's not hard to start using it only with the basic features.
One step at a time it's not hard to start using other features.

Nachteile

The user has a lot of control and if you are not sure what you are doing you can break a lot of things

Justin
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: Selbstständig
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
5
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
5

5
Bewertet am 23.4.2024

Github - The Go-To Source Control Management System For Serious Devs

Vorteile

Github is the "glue" that holds my entire DevOops flow together. It's solid as a rock and offers endless integrations that make it possible to connect Github upstream and downstream in local and remote development flows. I can't recommend the platform highly enough.

Nachteile

Overall, I think highly of the platform. I was not wild about the Microsoft buy-out, but I have not identified any impact to the availability or functionality to the platform since the acquisition that would give me cause to criticize the new leadership team.

Binod
  • Branche: Bildungsmanagement
  • Unternehmensgröße: 10.000+ Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
5
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
5

5
Bewertet am 29.4.2024

Project Management Made Easy

Overall GitHub is a great tool for any project management and version control of your project.

Vorteile

Project management and version control wouldn't have been the same without GitHub. It has led to many amazing open source projects due to its seamless features for collaboration and version control.

Nachteile

New authentication method is little bit of a hassle. Would have been nice if it was simplified with easier authentication methods.

Ansh
Ansh
  • Branche: E-Learning
  • Unternehmensgröße: 201–500 Mitarbeiter
  • Monatlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
4
Funktionen
4
Bedienkomfort
4
Kundenbetreuung
Nicht verfügbar

5
Bewertet am 1.5.2024

Why use Github

Vorteile

The GitHub version control system that allows for seamless project management which makes it easy to track changes and collaborate with team members is the best feature

Nachteile

It's very challenging to effectively manage team members and collaborators across multiple repositories on GitHub .

Verifizierter Rezensent
  • Branche: Internet
  • Unternehmensgröße: 1.001–5.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
5
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
Nicht verfügbar

5
Bewertet am 2.5.2019

Github for personal and enterprise use

The only other solution for an enterprise level git service is BitBucket from Atlassian. I have enjoyed both. While I think BitBucket has better integration with JIRA, I think the other services offered in GitHub work just as well. They *do* have JIRA integrations which work just fine. Also, if you use GitHub Issues instead of JIRA it works great and they have amazing support for that as well. I would highly recommend GitHub to anyone looking for a git service.

Vorteile

GitHub is the #1 git service. So much so some people the tool git with the service GitHub. I have used www.Github since 2012 and use GitHub Enterprise at work on a daily basis. The services and integrations with other software suites is top notch. Now that they also support private repositories for free accounts, I've ditched other git services entirely.
I love their Markdown parser and how they allow the use of Markdown in everything. It makes it much easier to document code and comment on pull requests.

Nachteile

It would be nice if their multi-datacenter replication solution was a little bit better for an on-prem installation. Fortunately, they now include GitHub Cloud Service as part of their enterprise license, which might alleviate the struggles of a multi-datacenter installation.

Alex
Alex
  • Branche: Marketing & Werbung
  • Unternehmensgröße: 2–10 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
5
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
5

5
Bewertet am 25.8.2019

Highly Intuitive GIT Hosting Solution with a Ridiculous Amount of Community Support

Vorteile

The best part of this software, in my opinion, has to be the repository insights that comes with the pro version and above. These insights have proven to be extremely valuable when managing larger-scale projects with multiple developers working on the projects. Not only is our project management team able to get live updates on the progress of the project with each commit, but our team is also able to hold each other accountable by seeing their progress via the progress tracking feature and individual commits. Another notable mention for Github is their desktop GUI. This is such an incredibly easy tool to use and it makes the entire GIT experience much easier to understand and maneuver.

Nachteile

The one issue i had with this software is the repo search functionality. This part of the software can be confusing to learn to be effective with and it takes some time to be proficient with, which can be a hassle for some of our newer members of our project management team.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitLab

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitHub

With Github being the most widely supported of the GIT repo hosting platforms, it was a pretty easy choice to stick with a solution that has a massive community backing it along with all the core functionality that my team needs. With the high amount of third-party integrations, it was almost a no-brainer to stick with this software simply because of ease of use.
Jonathan
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: Selbstständig
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
5
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
5

5
Bewertet am 15.11.2019

Best git hosting

Very good for hosting private and public repos. The addition of free private repos is a huge plus!

Vorteile

Very easy to host a repository and to fork other repositories. It is easy to search other repositories.

Nachteile

None that I found. My only request would be to be easier to download single files without having to view the file first. If there were checkboxes and a download option that would be great.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitLab

Warum GitHub gewählt wurde

Github has a much better repo interface than Bitbucket in my opinion.

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitHub

I was so happy with GitHub I hadn't looked closely at the most comparable option, GitLab, which requires me to learn a new interface and functionality.
Verifizierter Rezensent
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11–50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
5
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
5

5
Bewertet am 10.2.2020

Best source code management

We use it on a daily basis, we have about 100+ private repositories hosted on this platform. It has nice workflow for devops to keep the source code clean, unit tested and deployable.

Vorteile

Github requires no introduction. It is the most popular source code management among opensouce and enterprise customers. It has native integration with almost all cloud providers.

Nachteile

Charge per user. In our case we outsource 70% of our development to outside contractors. Every time we add them into our account, it is considered as additional collaborator and takes away one seat. It will be hard for us to keep monitoring both internal and external developers on our team to keep the cost under control.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

Assembla

Warum GitHub gewählt wurde

Most of the developers we hired in the past were not familiar with Assembla and hard time convincing them to use it. It was not as popular as GitHub in the developer community.

Zuvor genutzte Software

Assembla

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitHub

Reasons are mentioned in the previous question.
Jason
  • Branche: Grafikdesign
  • Unternehmensgröße: Selbstständig
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Nicht verfügbar
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
4
Kundenbetreuung
Nicht verfügbar

5
Bewertet am 22.9.2020

As a designer who codes...

Great. I used GitHub at my work daily and for at home for personal projects. It was set up & integrated well throughout our suite and comms internally. Personally, I have a repo set up for my personal sit and I wouldn’t ever choose another tool to host my code repository and handle deployments to production code.

Vorteile

GitHub has grown leap & bounds over the past few years. They have always offered really excellent tools for developers that is well built and very stable. More recently GitHub has put a lot of effort in creating a more intuitive user experience that makes it simpler to use for both beginners and experienced users. As a designer who isn’t the best with code and development but still knows how to setup and deploy code with GitHub there updates over recent years have been very helpful in day-to-day. Integrations & security settings are excellent as well.

Nachteile

Nothing much to say here. GitHub can be a bit overwhelming for a beginner but IMO they have been addressing this and making it much more comfortable to get started using. I’d like to see more of the same in other areas as well. Solving merge conflicts in GitHub was the only time I was ever frustrated with the tool.

Jose
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11–50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Nicht verfügbar
Funktionen
4
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
Nicht verfügbar

5
Bewertet am 7.10.2021

The easier source control app

The projects that we manage on my organization are confidential, so we have payed for the Github Businness plan and we control who is entering to the repositories and what are they doing. Also, we allow the access with specific IP's so that's is a really cool feature.

Vorteile

First, it has a desktop application, so it's easier to pull, push and track changes. It's free for private repositories and organizations (even if yours it's not an open source one). You have A LOT of integrations, like Slack, Jira, Jenkins, etc. Also, you can create your own integration if you need it.

Nachteile

I think the only thing is missing on Github is group repositories in folders. You can do something like that (using the teams feature) but at the end the repositories are not grouped.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitLab

Warum GitHub gewählt wurde

Bitbucket is too expensive. In the other hand, if you are going to pay for any GitLab plan I think is better buy it on GitHub becase it has more features.

Zuvor genutzte Software

GitLab
Verifizierter Rezensent
  • Branche: Internet
  • Unternehmensgröße: 2–10 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
5
Funktionen
4
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
5

5
Bewertet am 29.6.2022

Best source control system ever

It always sent clear messages to help myself find myself at the development, no matter the stage it is. It always provided simple and safe tools to helpe me whenever I needed. In general I am very satisfied with the tool. Nowadays I do not pay for any use, for I do not ned it, but I will gladely pay again when the time cames.

Vorteile

In addition to being one of the first platforms of its kind and a great choice for software project management, github went further and became a true developer network, the first one I guess. Many companies hire exclusively considering the particular repository of each developer what mekes the employees even more eggor to lear the environment.

Nachteile

Not much but yet a little above the price if compared to other rivals.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

GitLab

Warum GitHub gewählt wurde

Between others git was developed by Linus Torvalds, a code versioning tool by developers to developers and it led us to use git, from there we needed something remote, something easy to use and them we ended up using git, the most popular of that time (and probably yet the most popular)

Gründe für den Wechsel zu GitHub

It was the most popular of that time (and probably yet the most popular)
Pawan
Pawan
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: Selbstständig
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
4
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
4
Kundenbetreuung
5

5
Bewertet am 1.3.2021

Best web version control

Overall my experience of using GitHub as a Software Engineer is pretty good. I have been using it to share my personal projects and also to work on group projects. Its also have been a great place to showcase my personal works and contribute to open source projects.

Vorteile

I have been using this great platform for 4 years and I am in love with it. I started using it in my bachelor's for hosting my projects and also collaboration with my colleagues on a group project. It's very useful to host code and share it with developers around the world and get feedback and help on the issues with the code. Also, it's a great place to find out many open source projects where you can contribute to and also use them on your personal or company projects. Also, it's great when it comes to working in a group, assigning tasks, creating issues, monitoring work progress, etc are great features. I also love the webhook feature to make automatic changes to the production/development environment so we get the latest code changes deployed. Also, creating, merging branches, etc can be done on the web. It's a great place to share your work and get feedback, contributions, and discussion on topics to make the code clean and more useful. Also, it has tons of tools in the marketplace which can be used for continuous integration, deployment, code review, etc to make the work easier. I love to star the projects so that I can view them later and I use it as a bookmarking feature. Also, forking is great to copy a repository with making changes on my own for my desired needs.

Nachteile

One issue that I am facing is the GUI bug where I search my one of my repository and open it and when I press the back button on the browser and when I try to search my another repository I am redirected automatically to my list of repositories instead of letting my search finish. Another con maybe it may be hard to use when starting using GitHub for the first time. Also, it doesn't let to perform the merge with the conflicting commits on its GUI and I have to use the command line commands.

Verifizierter Rezensent
  • Branche: Hochschulbildung
  • Unternehmensgröße: 10.000+ Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
5
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
Nicht verfügbar

5
Bewertet am 28.1.2022

If home is where your code is, Github is my home

I have used GitHub personally and professionally for over a decade. I use it primarily for work, but I have also used it to contribute to open source projects in my free time. I have found many amazing projects that I use regularly in my work and in my programming related hobbies.

Vorteile

Git hub gives you options to manage your code. I like that I can use the command line to interact with git, but I can also use the GitHub desktop application, or the plugin for my IDE of choice: Atom, or the plugin for my colleagues' IDE of choice: VS Code, or any number of other apps.
The pull request merge workflow is also wonderful in that it allows code inspection and comparison.
Minor edits can even be made on the GitHub website and will become part of the regular git history.
GitHub actions allow us to do things like run unit tests and check a test build before approving code for merging to the main branch.
My absolute favorite part about GitHub is that it allows me to collaborate and contribute to projects that are not directly under my organization's control, but part of the open source community.

Nachteile

Honestly, there is not much I dislike about GitHub. My biggest complaints about it are more related to the choices my organization has made around using GitHub. I would like to use GitHub for issue tracking and project management, but we have contracts with other paid tools that offer roughly the same functionality.

If I had one request for a better user experience it would be to improve the quality and capability to search for code within a specific repository. The feature exists, but it feels primitive and very basic. I want to be able to search through version history and have better search matches (instead of fuzzy matches). Better search tools would make GitHub even more useful.

Fábio
Fábio
  • Branche: Computer- & Netzwerksicherheit
  • Unternehmensgröße: 501–1.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Nicht verfügbar
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
2
Kundenbetreuung
Nicht verfügbar

5
Bewertet am 25.4.2022

GitHub for devs and for security reviews

Overall, GitHub offers all main features of git in a user friendly website.
Everything can be done through the interface, including creating your own static site.

Vorteile

GitHub is the most well known git implementation.
For security reviews, GitHub offers many solid information regarding source code commits. It is easy to search for a new source code change on both command line and GUI, making it easier to detect new changes and potential vulnerable code.
It also is easy to understand what was changed to the source code after a security fix, allowing for easy comprehension of the implementation.

Nachteile

Since it is an implementation of git, the learning curve of more complex commands and features is very steep.
The average user will only use the basic features (like git clone, which downloads a copy of the repository to the local machine, or git pull/git commit, which will publish the changes to the remote repository), but when trying to use the more complex features (like merging, purging code, reverting a state) it can be time consuming to learn.

merroudj
merroudj
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: Selbstständig
  • Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
4
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
4

4
Bewertet am 24.9.2022

Most unforgettable software service

Due to the comprehensive guide and article support part that you may utilize as long as it is linked to git for practically any topic on earth, you need not miss information when using GitHub. You may learn more about the SSH keys creation from its content. There is a reference for the appropriate git workflow available. You can have examples of gitignore for your upcoming project and other things (and more). You don't need to look elsewhere for all the information you want

Vorteile

Free service, while there are also premium options, a Large community, quick searches inside the structure of the repo, and accessibility to support.
With GitHub, you may store your projects and make them available to your colleagues for inspiration or collaboration. The beauty of it is that you can have many people work together remotely on a project, putting you all, so to speak, on the same page.
With GitHub, you may store your projects and make them available to your colleagues for inspiration or collaboration. The beauty of it is that you can have many people work together remotely on a project, putting you all, so to speak, on the same page.

Since Microsoft acquired GitHub, we are now able to host private projects, and they will function with any CI environment, including CircleCI or GitHub.

The most well-known git implementation is GitHub. GitHub provides a wealth of reliable information about source code contributions for security evaluations. Both the command line and the GUI make it simple to search for new source code changes, making it simpler to find modifications and potentially susceptible code. Additionally, it is simple to comprehend what changes were made to the source code following a security update, making it simple to grasp how they were implemented.

Nachteile

It isn't completely open because you aren't allowed to upload anything larger than 100MB and the free version's repository size is just 1GB.
Getting used to the mental model when you're new to GitHub is one of the difficulties that is frequently mentioned but becomes easier over time and with experience.
It might not be the ideal instrument for documenting ideas or the creative process. LayerVault or a program that is comparable to it would be a fantastic choice for this particular task. Git, in our opinion, is not the ideal tool for tracking design but is quite effective for tracking code. When drawings must be converted into code or exported to a production environment, it might appear to be a little bit of a murky area.
I'd love to see GitHub release a feature-rich mobile app to make managing repositories on tiny screen devices easier and more practical. This would be necessary for developer workflows that need problems or work-item capabilities.

Khalid
Khalid
  • Branche: Bildungsmanagement
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11–50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für 6-12 Monate genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
5
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
5

5
Bewertet am 5.10.2022

BEST code development means GitHub

My overall experience with app/software/SAAS can be summed in the follwing points:

A. The given app/software/SAAS has been solving the following business problems :
- automated deployment pipeline
- when in need of repository while working on open source projects
- deploying of programs within cloud platforms like AWS
- aids everybody in building great softwares
- helps in understanding the overall product requirements
B. i have been able to realize the following benefits with the help of the given app/software/SAAS :
-putting up of an open-source repository
- learn from other open-source projects
- helpful when multiple users working upon one single code

Vorteile

i found the following features as most impactful:
- version controlling
- dependabot for vulnerability scanning
- integrates well with third-party based app
- ability to go back to previous versions if present code shows error
- high repository privacy
Yes the product is quite easy to use for:
- hassle free source code hosting
- Container Registry quite helpful
- open-source community involvement fostering
- user interface is really smooth easy and Excellent
- open-source applications/code of all available to tweak
Yes i was successfully able to implement the integration of the app/software/SAAS with my existing business processes quite smoothly and easily as i could set it up with a little self-help, effort, and online training guides..

Nachteile

I found the following features that were either missing or could be improved:
- merger-conflicts through github could be improved
- pull request codeview could be improved
- no options for delete update and issues create for teams and users
- Like many other IDEs, the code editing environment features lacks in additional functionalities.

I found the following features or aspects of the product that are difficult to use:
- folder deletion
- absence of rich CI/CD
-one is  unable to install, download, as well as set up one's own GitHub server.
- permanent removal of unwanted files
- misleading repository contributions count
No, the integration of the app/software/SAAS with my existing business processes not so much difficult as i could set it up with a little self-help, effort, and online training guides.

Emil
  • Branche: Gesundheit, Wellness & Fitness
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11–50 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
4
Funktionen
4
Bedienkomfort
4
Kundenbetreuung
4

4
Bewertet am 14.1.2023

A User's Perspective: My experience with Github

Github is a great tool for software development projects that allows for easy tracking and management of code changes, collaboration with other developers, and open-source development. It also has a large and helpful community and can be used to showcase your work to potential employers. However, it can be expensive, has limited storage on the free plan and some issues with UI and navigation, limited support for certain languages, and limited scalability for large enterprises. Additionally, it has limited control over data and privacy and lack of built-in project management features.

Vorteile

Github has significantly altered the way I approach software development projects; I've been using it for a while now. It has been incredibly simple to collaborate with other developers and keep track of my code thanks to the version control feature. The tools for code review and issue tracking are particularly helpful because they make it simple to keep track of any bugs or adjustments that need to be made. Github also has a lot going for it in terms of open-source development. Numerous open-source projects have allowed me to participate and utilize them, and the supportive and welcoming community is always there to help. Building my portfolio and showcasing my work to potential employers has also been a great benefit. The ability to integrate with my continuous integration and deployment services, for example, was made possible by Github's integrations with other tools. I can manage the permissions of my project contributors with ease thanks to the access control feature. I also enjoy having access to my code from any location, and the remote backup feature gives me great peace of mind. I've looked over other developers' code on Github and contributed to their projects as a way to learn. All things considered, Github has become a crucial tool in my workflow, and I can't even imagine doing software development projects without it.

Nachteile

I've been using Github for a while, and while it has some great features, there are a few drawbacks as well that I've found annoying. First off, the price can be a little high, especially for private repositories or big teams. Larger projects may encounter difficulties due to the free plan's constrained storage. The navigation and interface can occasionally be a little bit perplexing to me. New users may find it overwhelming, and the customization options are few. Additionally, I've observed that some languages don't offer as strong support for code review and syntax highlighting tools. Github also doesn't seem to be designed for large enterprises, and it might not have the scalability options they require. Additionally, the fact that it is reliant on the service's uptime is somewhat of a drawback. Additionally, I discover that Github has a small number of integrations and that I am unable to locate the precise tools I require. Additionally, I don't have a lot of control over my privacy and data. Last but not least, I discover that it lacks integrated project management features, forcing me to rely on third-party tools. Although Github is a fantastic tool overall, some users may find its limitations to be infuriating.

6.042 Bewertungen