Nutzerbewertungen im Überblick

Über PagerDuty

PagerDuty is an incident management solution for monitoring systems and triggering alerts. Key features include monitoring aggregation, event grouping, real-time collaboration, mobile incident management, user reporting and...

Mehr erfahren

Funktionsbewertungen

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
4
Funktionen
4,5
Bedienkomfort
4,5
Kundenbetreuung
4,5

Nutzerbewertungen zu PagerDuty durchsuchen

187 von 182 Bewertungen
Sortieren nach:
Jo B.
  • Branche: Computer-Vernetzung
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Nicht verfügbar
Funktionen
Nicht verfügbar
Bedienkomfort
Nicht verfügbar
Kundenbetreuung
Nicht verfügbar

5
Bewertet am 30.4.2015

From 10,000 emails to one actionable alert: PagerDuty

I started trialling PagerDuty and other alert aggregation services after accidentally sending myself 10,000 emails. One thing PagerDuty does and does well, is cut through the noise, and helps you focus on the actionable issues. With integration with almost every alerting tool out there, including basic email - integrating a PagerDuty alert into your application or service is far too easy. The pricing is reasonable, and the phone and SMS alerting options work well, even in New Zealand. The PagerDuty app itself makes being on call so much easier, with simple acknowledgement and resolution actions, next to escalation and incident collaboration features. Having user controlled customisation, you can setup the alerting to suit your connectivity and support your sleep. After 6 years on call for a critical NZ wide system, I can say PagerDuty is refreshing change to the game. Don't hate the pager...

Vorteile

Simple setup and easy first alert.
Comprehensive incident management, reporting and analytics to focus on what matters.
Highly configurable alerting that is controllable by the recipient themselves.
Easy escalation, resolution and communication features in mobile application and via the web.
Well supported SMS and Phone alerting and incident management - Internationally
Quick and easy support for the product - from a great PagerDuty team.
Less noise, more actionable alerts with comprehensive de-duplication and alert filtering options.

Nachteile

PagerDuty is unforgiving of poorly written interfaces generating errors and despite ignoring ones' phone while in meetings, the alert will get to you, no matter what you are doing!
While I love the 'PagerDuty' alerting and am amused by the 'Engineer Laughing' alert sound - having more options for custom, per incident, alert notification sounds in the Mobile app would be great.

Danny C.
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Nicht verfügbar
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
Nicht verfügbar

5
Bewertet am 7.11.2019

Excellent Product

Having PagerDuty set up to trigger alarms to will notify my team is truly priceless. Whether we are on duty, or in an On-Call scenario, PagerDuty is always around to let us know when things go wrong.

Vorteile

I love how reliable PagerDuty is. My company has PagerDuty implemented for not only our On-Call regiment, but also with alerting. Since we've been using PagerDuty, we've ALWAYS been notified of issues that we've created alerts for. Sure, it's not always fun to receive a call when On-Call, but we can always rely on PagerDuty to be functioning correctly to ensure we are informed in the most critical of moments. Keep up the good work!

Nachteile

No cons to report, honestly. Other than having a critical moment where PagerDuty is having to be utilized. However that is no fault of the PD Team!

Adam O.
  • Branche: E-Learning
  • Unternehmensgröße: 201-500 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
4
Funktionen
4
Bedienkomfort
3
Kundenbetreuung
4

5
Bewertet am 7.11.2019

PagerDuty is the defacto incident management software

Vorteile

PagerDuty takes the complication out of scheduling and lets us focus on keeping our services up and healthy. We set the schedule and forget about it.

Nachteile

The Terraform provider is very buggy. We often find we have to go through multiple rounds of guess and check to get Terraform config to match up with how we want it to end up in PagerDuty. I understand that Terraform is not the primary UX you are focused on but for Terraform power users managing many teams and services it is indispensable.

Vedarth K.
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11-50 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
5
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
4
Kundenbetreuung
Nicht verfügbar

5
Bewertet am 19.11.2019

Value for money

Web application is seamless and we had to contact support for any kind of question.

Vorteile

Seamless workflow management, once the workflow is setup everything works just as expected. PagerDuty has many integrations which allows us to setup alerts just by choosing the application, which is a great thing for small teams where development costs are very high.

Nachteile

Cannot think of anything from my standpoint, we are a small team and PagerDuty has everything we need and it works as expected every single time.

Chris G.
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11-50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
2
Funktionen
3
Bedienkomfort
4
Kundenbetreuung
3

4
Bewertet am 18.11.2019

Pager Duty

Helps monitor critical systems and alerting

Vorteile

The alerting, even when you turn the volume down on your phone if an alerts triggers the volume will get turned back up for that alarm

Nachteile

After a few years the price started to increase.

Raheel L.
  • Branche: Gastgewerbe
  • Unternehmensgröße: 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
2
Funktionen
2
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
5

5
Bewertet am 8.11.2019

PagerDuty review

Vorteile

Good customer support, documentation and API

Nachteile

Lack of filtering/search options. Not possible to search for specific alerts without the use of the API. It's a pain.

No audit logs to see who made changes and what the changes are. Lack of features in the PagerDuty slack plug-in as compared to other alternatives such as OpsGenie

Sara C.
  • Branche: Telekommunikation
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11-50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
5
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
5

5
Bewertet am 13.11.2019

Great for On-call

Great!

Vorteile

I like that we can easily resolve through the app.

Nachteile

I don't like that we can only have 3 users.

Soumya J.
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 201-500 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
4
Funktionen
4
Bedienkomfort
4
Kundenbetreuung
4

5
Bewertet am 8.11.2019

Does way more than what is on the box if people knows to use it.

Overall its been amazing and always a friend of operations team now spreading to development teams.

Vorteile

- Setting up override is 30 seconds task.
- Reminder of when Im going on-call and my own notification settings is a life saviour.
- Slack integration
- Api integration
- Postmortems made easier.
- ITIL followed in the core in an automated fashion making incident management a cake walk.

Nachteile

- No way to export the schedule to excel. Only option is to do a calendar export. Which is not what a team lead or manager will want to do payroll.
- Would be nicer to have billing based on number of schedules/services rather than number of users as we are in a devops world where all need to be able to login/resolve alerts. This forces teams to limit access taking them away from being "devops".
- I am not a big fan of the schedule UI. It will be nicer to have days separated with lines on the rota.
- In general the amount of invested on this tool is very minimal by a user, so it is worth simplifying schedules and services for people to understand it easier. The word service itself is misleading for the users.

Manas M.
  • Branche: Einzelhandel
  • Unternehmensgröße: 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
4
Funktionen
4
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
3

5
Bewertet am 19.12.2020

Get alerted when your services go down or on urgent mails from the customer, and track it

PagerDuty has continually helped us in identifying the unusual issues and edge cases, now our product is stable, and we ensure high availability of our services , it has been a great experience with it

Vorteile

You can use pager duty for different purpose to get alerted and track the alert till the alert was addressed,
we use it for the alert on service down and failures, so that the product issue can be addressed and fixed at the earliest,

Pagerduty serves this purpose good, it alerts in different mediums and at different levels, and there is a rotation policy, if a level 1 user dose not addresses then it alerts the level 2 user and this rotation gos on till the issue is properly addressed, and there are good features like time tracking, historic analysis , team groping, different alert policies, scheduling the users to be on call, snoozing the alert, escalating to other user, etc

Nachteile

some times the web UI becomes slow, the app version dose not have all the features that the web version has

James E.
  • Branche: Unterhaltung
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11-50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
5
Funktionen
4
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
5

5
Bewertet am 18.11.2019

The standard in on-call notification

I have used pagerduty for years, and I have to say I use it as the gold standard for other notification services. So far, competitors either don't have nearly the same level of features, or cost a fortune.

Vorteile

Easy to set up. Inexpensive. Reliable. It has a number of integration options for various monitoring systems, and they are always adding more. They also have generic versioned APIs for any custom software you might bring to the table.

Nachteile

The Mobile app sometimes has issues refreshing when there is a lot of activity.

Verifizierter Rezensent
  • Branche: Internet
  • Unternehmensgröße: 201-500 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Nicht verfügbar
Funktionen
4
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
Nicht verfügbar

5
Bewertet am 12.5.2020

Did everything we needed it to

Kept our team groups and rotations organized and informed of production impacting problems. Easy to use so was there to help us solve our problems, not to be yet another configuration challenge to overcome.

Vorteile

Simple to use intuitive interface via web and smartphone app, third party integrations with Nagios, Slack, and Atlassian products (Jira), as well as custom webhooks for use with monitoring tools (grafana). Overrides available for scheduled rotations. Custom alert sounds was a nice touch.

Nachteile

Attention from customer support requires being a larger customer paying a significant amount of money. Which we were when I used and configured this, and it worked well for us.

Danny F.
  • Branche: Marketing & Werbung
  • Unternehmensgröße: 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
3
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
5

5
Bewertet am 8.11.2019

An Excellent Service for Orgs with complex alerting needs

PagerDuty has met all of our needs to-date. We reassess vendors regularly, and have yet to try someone else.

Vorteile

PagerDuty has an incredible featureset that spans just about every "on call" use case you could dream up. They highlight new use cases regularly in blog posts and Account Management is pretty solid.

Nachteile

Pricing is far higher than competitors which makes it a tough pill to swallow with annual billing. There's not much focus on controlling costs and very little leniency on things like prorating user seats if we have a new hire (it appears to be billed as a full month). With the highest price point in the industry, Account Managers usually have leniency to retain customers by avoiding these nickel-and-dime approaches to billing.

De ville W.
  • Branche: Marketing & Werbung
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11-50 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Nicht verfügbar
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
Nicht verfügbar

5
Bewertet am 19.11.2019

PagerDuty is the perfect solution for managing our production support team

PagerDuty gives us peace of mind. With PagerDuty it's great to know that the right person will be contacted as soon as a production incident is logged. Keeping track of who is on support is no longer a hassle. I can't imagine us managing production support without it, especially considering the fact that the team is spread across multiple continents. I can't recommend it enough!

Vorteile

- Great integration support
- Mobile app works great and continues to get frequent updates
- Flexible configuration options without being overly complicated
- Allows us to easily manage our after-hours roster and schedules
- Ability to create incident reports is a great time saver

Nachteile

- Pricing is a bit more than some competitors

James M.
  • Branche: Bildungsmanagement
  • Unternehmensgröße: 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
5
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
4
Kundenbetreuung
5

5
Bewertet am 7.11.2019

The best option if you need to be alerted for when things go down

We were tired of paging everyone all the time on things going down or coming back up. Now it pages one person during business hours only. Also if the server comes back up it'll close the ticket for us and resolve the call. Our admins can now sleep at nights and not have to respond to every page with people trying to figure out who is handling the situation.

Vorteile

Most? There are so many features with pagerduty. I like it only alerts one person on call instead of the old way we use to page people. We use to page everyone on everything. Now it's just the person on call and he doesn't respond it goes to the next person. Very nice setup.

Nachteile

Scheduling times is a bit difficult for me to grasp, but once you figure it out you only have to set it up once.

Michael H.
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51-200 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Kostenlose Testversion genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Nicht verfügbar
Funktionen
4
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
Nicht verfügbar

4
Bewertet am 10.10.2018

Pager Duty - Proof you get what you pay for

We immediately handled the overflow of noise from Nagios, AppDynamics, Dotcom-Monitor, SCOM(from our dc provider) and were able to drop a cellular device using the centralized phone contact with Pager-Duty. We also were able to put our on-call schedule into PagerDuty to realize immediately who was on-call for what product, in what region. There was a very immediate value add realized from even just trialing PagerDuty.

Vorteile

I tried a competitor's product which was a free notification manager up to 11 people. It took me 3 days to get anywhere with a basic task of integrating 3 of our noisiest alerts. Then I tried the PagerDuty trial and got 2 of our noisiest alerts built out in 1 day. I added 3 more over the next 2 days to go well over the targeted mark. Coworkers were excited to help put time and effort into the system as opposed to the free tool which I couldn't seem to get any traction with. The alerts were immediately available, they were easy to get posting to my cell phone, and adding additional users was a cinch. The tool unfolds and becomes more useful the more time you put into it where some tools you struggle to get right and then you're afraid to make changes.

Nachteile

The UI is a bit quirky in the scheduler which is a pretty important view if you have a rotating on-call shift you're trying to tie down. There was a lot of "can't delete before you delete elsewhere" scenarios where there could have been a "will also delete these elsewhere, are you sure?" scenarios. What you gain in ease of use and stability in the mobile platform you lose in overall functionality, it is simple almost to a fault and while it seems silly there's no skinning of the mobile app to better suit your personality in a hyper-customized world. I'll know shortly if they're willing to go longer but they seem to be sticklers for the exact trial length + only a little. Corporations interested in putting in a full month long or longer trial that may need that amount of time to show value, create a SOW, and have a PO issued may be stuck in limbo for a few weeks.

Monish K.
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
4
Funktionen
3
Bedienkomfort
4
Kundenbetreuung
4

4
Bewertet am 27.4.2020

Ensure High availability of your product to the end user by integrating it with PagerDuty

PagerDuty helped our product to become highly stable and it ensured high availability to the end user, overall had a great experience with it.

Vorteile

PagerDuty is used to send alert notifications to developer,
We can use it in a way that when ever failure occurs notify the developer who is scheduled to be on-call,
Even a customer escalation to a email can trigger a pagerDuty notification alert, when the receiver email ID is subscribed with PagerDuty,

PagerDuty has escalation policies , in which multiple users can be in different level, if level 1 failed to resolve the issue, the level 2 dev gets a alert etc ..
and the dev's can be scheduled to rotate there levels in fixed time intervals, like weekly bases,

It Dose a good job of maintaining the issue states & the alerted issue has different lifecycle such as triggered, acknowledged , resolved, snoozed,

It maintains analytical dashboards on dev's which shows the responsiveness of the developer , like how many issues they have resolved and what is the average resolution time or have they escalated it etc ..

it maintains history of alerts, it has good customer support,
the resolution note's can also be added against the alert,

We can configure the alerts as Low and High Urgency , based on which we can have different type of notifications,

types of notifications are phone call, message, email, push notification in pd app etc ...

pagerDuty deduplicates the alerts with same message, if a incident is in open state and if same incident occurs again and again , it will not be raised.

Nachteile

Sometimes when i resolve the alert on web, i still get a call on phone,

If the incident was resigned by the developer to a other user who is not in the escalation policy and if he did not answer the alert the escalation chain stops, instead it should be thrown back to older escalation policy from ware it begun

Verifizierter Rezensent
  • Branche: Finanzdienstleistungen
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11-50 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für 6-12 Monate genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
4
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
4
Kundenbetreuung
Nicht verfügbar

5
Bewertet am 3.12.2019

PagerDuty make it feel more like a pleasure than a Duty

Surprisingly easy to setup rotating schedules, schedule maintenance window exceptions, and have alerts triggered from many sources including email.

No one on call can say they didn't hear their phone anymore.. you will be phones, emailed and SMS messaged.. and it will loop until you (or someone else on rotation) knowledges the issue.

Vorteile

Easy to setup.
Trigger alerts via emails.
Good interface.
Integrates easily with MS Teams.
Rotating schedules for multiple team members.
Easy to make schedule exceptions.
Easy to acknowledge alerts via email, phone, app or SMS.

Nachteile

I can't really think of any Cons.
I really enjoyed getting this setup and benefiting from the easy alerts.

Tom E.
  • Branche: Einzelhandel
  • Unternehmensgröße: 2-10 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
5
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
5

5
Bewertet am 7.11.2019

Helps me sleep at night

PagerDuty keeps my entire team in the loop when something goes wrong with our app. We couldn't deliver the level of service that we do without PagerDuty

Vorteile

I love that Pagerduty has integrations with all of the application monitoring tools that we use. If anything starts to act up, Pagerduty makes sure we are aware of it.

Nachteile

Nothing really. The pricing is fair, the reliability is flawless.

Pankaj R.
  • Branche: Onlinemedien
  • Unternehmensgröße: 201-500 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
5
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
5

5
Bewertet am 12.11.2019

Great product, helps us a lot

As much as i hate to see a call from pagerduty, i know its doing its job. Its served the purpose well, its rare that we have to login and change settings since you can ack and resolve from phone, or slack.
You could add snooze option to the slackbot, that would be awesome!

Vorteile

- The flow of events, mainly. How it goes from Triggered, to ACK, to resolved with snooze options, it feels natural.
- Notification flow: How I can set up to notify my phone, wait two minutes before texting me, and wait five minutes before calling me.
- Slack integration

Nachteile

- Configuration can use some redesign. Its hard to find some settings sometimes. I told a coworker about updating notifications, and it took them a while to figure out where they can do that.
- Some important features are hidden behind a higher tier plan, eg: analytics.

Derek O.
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
5
Funktionen
4
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
5

5
Bewertet am 22.11.2019

Great solution for on-call and incident management for any organisation!

We have implemented PagerDuty across our SRE and Support organizations and are beginning to roll it out to our engineering teams. This is providing us rapid Incident response and rapid engagement of teams to assist during incidents, no matter what time of day it is or where the teams are geographically located.

Vorteile

PagerDuty very easy to configure and use, I've given access to team leads with no instructions and they've been up and running that day.

Nachteile

It'd be great if PagerDuty could integrate with all versions of Jira natively without a 3rd party plugin.

Mahesh K.
  • Branche: Einzelhandel
  • Unternehmensgröße: 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
4
Funktionen
4
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
4

5
Bewertet am 9.5.2021

Be alerted when your process or application fails, to ensure high avilablety

This is a good way to keep our applications in a highly available state, it is really useful and great tool to have

Vorteile

This Tool is simple and effect, the sole purpose of this tool is to alert the developer, and keep track the alert was resolved or not,

so , there are escalation policies that can be defined, such that when a primary user dose not acknowledge the alert, it wold be escalated to a other user in the list ,order wise

there are different type of alerts hards and soft, so we can set different notification methods for both,

supported notification mediums, phone call, SMS, app notification, email etc..

We can add note for all alerted insedents,

we can see the history of alerts and to come to a conclusion and fix it for a long term,

they have a great support team

Nachteile

I don't see any issues with the service, some times even if we resolve the alert in the web UI, we still receive the call

M. serhat D.
  • Branche: E-Learning
  • Unternehmensgröße: 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für 6-12 Monate genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Nicht verfügbar
Funktionen
4
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
Nicht verfügbar

3
Bewertet am 2.4.2020

On-call software with rich features

I have been using PagerDuty for 1 year now, and I'm with the product so far. The only negative thing about the PagerDuty is the big latency during the incidents.

Vorteile

PagerDuty does the job. It's gonna wake you up in the middle of the night, no matter what. The number of ways they are providing for acknowledging an incident is great. You can get a call, an SMS message, a push notification on the browser, or a mobile notification for an incident.

Nachteile

PagerDuty has some latency when it comes to acknowledging incidents. After acknowledging an incident by using the mobile app, getting an additional phone call about the incident is a little bit annoying.

Stephen W.
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für 6-12 Monate genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Nicht verfügbar
Funktionen
5
Bedienkomfort
4
Kundenbetreuung
Nicht verfügbar

4
Bewertet am 4.7.2021

Essential part of the support stack

Vorteile

PagerDuty is a simple but critical piece of our monitoring and support solution. We use it for two purposes, sending alerts to support when urgent customer requests come in, and sending alerts to engineering / SRE teams when something is wrong with our SaaS. It's easy to define the hierarchy of how the alerts should cascade. Integration is simple since PagerDuty supports many common platforms like BambooHR and OneLogin. Oneboarding process is straightforward and simple.

Nachteile

For colleagues in some regions, PagerDuty requires VPN to access which can be somewhat inconvenient. However that's more a reflection of the region versus PagerDuty. Pricing for the highest tier is expensive.

Kenneth D.
  • Branche: Finanzdienstleistungen
  • Unternehmensgröße: 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
4
Funktionen
4
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
5

5
Bewertet am 7.11.2019

PagerDuty : A solution to almost every problem you didn't know you had yet

The software just works. We have had almost thirty thousand alerts flow through PagerDuty since we first started using it. The software completely replaced a rather broken SMS / Email alert chain overnight and has been by far the most valuable product we have purchased for keeping our system uptime levels where they need to be.

Lastly a personal experience which I will always cherish. It's a snowy winter day and you're on call, but you needed paperless, and cat food, and pedlyte and diapers and other bits, so you took your 2 year old to a big box store. You're all the way at the back of the store and your phone goes off with "Something's broken... Something's Broken... It's your Fault! ... It's your Fault!..." In the box store, with a full cart and a toddler.

Next thing you know... you're flying through the box store to the front, diapers falling out of the cart, sippy cup lost, toys missing, and toddler singing along with your phone since he now knows the words quite well. Get to the front, abandon the cart, the two children's voices still going full tilt, and get out to the parking lot just in the nick of time to production by ninja resizing a set of boxes as they are almost to the point of falling all over themselves.

No one noticed. Thanks to PagerDuty.

And now I'm *still* known as "The Something's Broken" dude by the managers of that store. They sing it to me every time I'm there 2 years later.

Vorteile

Integration with CloudWatch, webhooks, Jira is outstanding, functional, and reliable. The application has gotten better over the years I have used it.

Handles real issues in real time with everything you need

Allows on-call individuals to customize their notification scheme to fit their life. Having full control over when, where and how you are "dinged" is just awesome.

Nachteile

It's a little expensive per user if you need simple API things. The rule set for routing isn't as good as VictorOps for the same price point.

PagerDuty is missing a "default route" option like VictorOps has. This is minor, because it's rather trivial to setup an extra account and use that "extra dummy account" as the "Default". I'm counting this as a "con" since we have had to do this for every single deployment of PagerDuty I've worked on where we wish to have alerts go to a team, but not actually notify anyone.

Lastly, business-hours-only alerting is a little weak. (Maybe it has gotten better.) Every implementation I've found, we need to have some sort of queued' alerts which we don't want to wake us up in the middle of the night but we want to or need to know about next business day situation we have had to work hard to implement in PagerDuty.

Corey F.
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für 6-12 Monate genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
3
Funktionen
4
Bedienkomfort
5
Kundenbetreuung
5

5
Bewertet am 13.11.2019

Bye Bye to old school on-call practices

Issues that use to "fall through the cracks" or receive no attention/acknowledgement at all have been almost eliminated totally. The time for a technical resource to be alerted to an incident and acknowledge it has gone from 15-25-35-45mins to 5 minutes or less. Teams are now proactively alerted to issues that may turn into something big before the customer notices any impact.

Vorteile

PagerDuty is incredibly easy to setup and use. Creating new teams, on-call schedules, and escalation policies can be done in a matter of minutes. You can go from manually looking up people via a google calendar or an excel sheet, to engaging an on-call resource in 2 minutes or less from the great app while you are on the beach.

The integration with Slack is great, no other way to say it. Very useful for incident notifications for those teams that rely heavily on Slack.

Nachteile

The reporting functionality of PagerDuty needs some further enhancements. Obtaining certain data such as "what users are using which contact methods" for example still needs to be provided by contacting their Support team. The filtering of the Visibility console needs work and is currently limited to "All Teams" or a single team.

187 Bewertungen